Search for content, post, videos

The Danish Life Science Cluster has officially been established

Denmark’s new national business cluster for life science and welfare technology was officially established as an association under the name Danish Life Science Cluster (DLSC) in December 2020.

Behind the Danish Life Science Cluster (DLSC) is a partnership between current cluster organizations, five universities; University of Copenhagen, DTU, Aarhus University, Aalborg University, University of Southern Denmark, five GTS departments; FORCE Technology, Bioneer, Alexandra Institute, Teknologisk Institut, DHI, the five Danish regions, the Danish municipalities and Lif, DI, DE, Dansk Biotek, Medicoindustrien and Danish Care, which together represent more than 500 small and large companies in the sector.

A strong partnership across the country

The purpose of the new cluster is to strengthen the collaboration on the transfer of the large research efforts and high-quality knowledge production created at universities, clinics, technological institutions, and other educational institutions, so that it can become much more innovative and commercial. solutions and products in new and existing companies. These include strong innovation projects, better and continued secure use of health data for research and innovation, networking, funding, entrepreneurship and much more.

The starting point

The board is composed across a total of 26 companies, knowledge and healthcare institutions. The starting point for the new organization is a joint application from 26 actors across the country, including the five largest universities, five GTSs, business and industry organizations in life sciences and welfare technology, the regions and municipalities as well as existing cluster organizations in the field.

The new organization builds on the work of existing cluster organizations, and it is employees from these clusters, approximately 30 people in total, who initially will form the staff of DLSC. In the coming months, a director will be hired and the organization will establish itself physically with a presence in five regional hubs; BioPeople, Copenhagen Health Cluster, Life Science Innovation North Denmark, MedTech Innovation Consortium and Welfare Tech.

Learn more about the new cluster in our upcoming issue of the magazine, out April 20th 2021.

Photo: iStock