Search for content, post, videos

The winners of Arvid Carlsson Award 2018

Arvid Carlsson Award 2018

This year’s Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park went to the founders of 1928 Diagnostics, Kristina Lagerstedt and Susanne Staaf.

“Kristina and Susanne är driven entrepreneurs with the ambition to counteract antibiotic resistance. They have developed 1928 Diagnostics into one of Sweden’s hottest start-ups through a knowingly effort on building the right team and thinking globally from day one,” says Marianne Dicander Alexandersson, head of the Jury and Sahlgrenska Science Park.

True entrepreneurial spirit

The Jury motivated its choice with: “The winners of Arvid Carlsson Award by Sahlgrenska Science Park are internationally recognized pioneers, through a technique that can contribute to solving one of the biggest threats against human health – antibiotic resistance. With a global mindset from the start in 2014 the Gothenburg company is already operating in ten countries in Europe and is planning for a future expansion in the U.S. The founders show that devotion and true entrepreneurial spirit for a good cause, based on science, can make a difference in the world.”

About the award

Arvid Carlsson Award is given every year to entrepreneurs that drives the development of human health and welfare forward. The Jury represent the industry, the University of Gothenburg, the Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Chalmers University of Technology, Region Västra Götaland, Business Region Göteborg and Mölndals stad.

Photo: Anna Hult