Search for content, post, videos

Genovis wins SwedenBIO Award


Genovis’ CEO, Fredrik Olsson, received the award in a prize ceremony during SwedenBIO Summit at Grand Hôtel in Stockholm on 30th January.

High-quality research, global presence and humor were some of the positive words describing the company Genovis, which claimed this year’s SwedenBIO Award.

“Life science is a tough industry where success doesn’t come easy, which is why it’s important to celebrate when things turn out the right way. Sponsoring the SwedenBIO award is our way of bringing people together to celebrate when things turn out well,” said Carl Kilander, Partner at HealthCap, who handed out the award onstage at the summit.

Enzyme and antibody solutions

Genovis was founded in 1999 and has since then grown significantly, describes SwedenBIO. The company is developing and supplying enzyme and antibody solutions that enable higher efficiency in the development and characterization of biopharma and ATMP products. The company has established a global presence and entered several international partnerships which has leveraged the product development. Genovis made their way to the market with a unique combination of high-quality research and humor, which is now a successful part of their brand, describes the jury.

“The award is a fantastic acknowledgement after years of teamwork to develop Genovis. We’ve been very good at building up the company over the years and to become internationally successful,” said Fredrik Olsson, the CEO of Genovis.

About the award

The SwedenBIO Award is given annually in collaboration with HealthCap to a life-science company that has shown outstanding achievements and contributions to society and that exemplifies the potential of a strong Swedish life-science industry. This year’s three award finalists were Genovis,  Xbrane Biopharma and Pelago BioScience.

Read more: Antaros Medical wins SwedenBIO Award 2022

The jury consisted of SwedenBIO’s board: Lotta Ljungqvist, 4L Bioconsulting; Christine Wesström, Sobi; Anders Persson, AstraZeneca; Kerstin Falck, Pfizer; Mårten Winge, Strike Pharma; Niels Abel Bonde, Novo Nordisk Sweden; Carl Kilander, HealthCap; Sana Alajmovic, Sigrid Therapeutics; and Torkel Gren, Recipharm.

Photo: iStock